Inspiration: Letters to July

Oh, July. A month of fireworks, birthdays, summer fruits, and swimming holes. I don’t mind the fact that foggy SF makes me question my assumptions and expand my definitions of things like “summer.” But I do miss seasons in California: I miss the change in rhythms that the weather triggers in people’s routines.

I miss the signals for our minds and bodies to slow down: to soak up the sun, to sip iced beverages from sweating bottles, to aim the whirring fan straight at your face, to lounge with friends out-of-doors on lazy-afternoons-turned-late-nights, to enjoy the messy-juicy fruits of summer like peaches and watermelon, and to seek out that spike of relief you get from jumping into water after a long day’s hike. Sunscreen, bug spray, short shorts, and sandals…July is sweet mangoes and salt water and a time to savor the year because we’re dead in the middle of it.

Leave a comment